Maritime Art Prize 2022 Judges

Paul Auckett

Paul Auckett has been specialising in Australian Modern and Contemporary Fine Art since launching Look Art Consulting in 1998 and has an excellent reputation as a leading art dealer and consultant.

Having gained extensive experience within the realm of buying and selling fine art, Paul has considerable expertise across a broad range of mediums and genres. As a consultant, he is well versed in Australian Contemporary Art and attends as many exhibitions as he can, to keep abreast of the local art scene.

Professor Su Baker AM 

Su Baker is an artist, Pro Vice-Chancellor Community and Cultural Partnerships, and the Director of Centre of Visual Arts (CoVA) at the University of Melbourne. She has more than twenty-five years’ experience in teaching, research and senior management accrued at Sydney College of the Arts, University of Sydney, and most recently, Victorian College of the Arts (VCA) where she was ten years, Head of the School of Art, and seven years, Director of the VCA.

Dr Graeme Henry Williams OAM

Graeme Williams has devoted his life to his passion for Australian Art and is a regular attendee at international art events. He is deeply involved in the art world as curator, judge, and patron, and has been a regular judge of the Mission to Seafarers’ Maritime Art Prize and Exhibition.
Graeme is a member of ICOM (Conseil International des Musées) and recently completed a PhD on the Melbourne Art Scene.

Selection Committee

Charles Lai

Charles Lai is an art enthusiast and advocate for the Australian art sector. He maintains an Art Opening Calendar specifically for the Melbourne Art Scene, and extensively photo-documents exhibitions. Passionate about supporting young and emerging artists, Charles acts as a mentor and facilitates connections. With a background in business and finance, he evaluates art without any preconceptions, and is driven by his own aesthetics.

John E. Lines AM

John Lines is the Principal of Australian Shipping Group and was previously Managing Director and Chairman of ANL Container Line. John has a long association with the Mission to Seafarers and is currently the Chair of MtSV’s Board.
John was awarded the Order of Australia for services to the Australian shipping industry, and the decoration of Chevalier de l’Ordre du Merite Maritime from the French Government for services to the shipping industry

Angela Tandori

Angela Tandori has over twenty years’ experience in the Australian art market. She has worked as a consultant, gallerist, valuer, auctioneer, and curator, and is the current President of the Art Consulting Association of Australia.
In 2021, she founded Art & Collectors – an enterprise for emerging and established collectors invested in building a sustainable art market. By empowering art lovers to become custodians, Angela seeks to not only support Australia’s cultural ecosystem, but promote the life-affirming value of art.


Exhibition Curator – Andrew Gaynor

Andrew Gaynor is a writer, researcher, and freelance Curator whose area of special interest is Australian modernism. He has held curatorial positions at key institutions including the Art Gallery of Western Australia, the Perth Institute of Contemporary Arts, the City of Boroondara, and the McClelland Sculpture Park & Gallery.
Andrew’s writings include the first monograph on the West Australian artist Guy Grey-Smith published by UWA Publishing in 2012; and since 2015 he has written extensively on Australian Art for Deutscher & Hackett Fine Art Auctions.