The Mission to Seafarers Victoria Annual ANL Maritime Art Award & Exhibition 2019

Promoting Maritime and Seafaring Subjects in Art
Exhibition runs from October 4th – October 20th 2019

Where and when

The MtSV Annual Maritime Art Awards & Exhibition is an international competition hosted at the Mission to Seafarers in Docklands, Melbourne. The Art Prize and Exhibition is only possible thanks to our sponsors who support through generous prize money for the artists and event support. The Exhibition will be open for public viewing from 4th October to 20th October 2019, 10am to 8pm daily.

The Opening Night of the exhibition will be held on Thursday 3rd October at 6.00pm with invitations to be sent to guests and Award finalists plus one guest. Tickets for other guests can be purchased prior.


$15,000 – ANL ‘Maritime Art Award’ (Acquisitive)

$5,000   – ASP Shipping ‘Best in Traditional Maritime Art Award’ (Acquisitive)

$2,000   – Victoria International Container terminal ‘Emerging Artist Award’ (Acquisitive)

$2,000   – VIVA Energy ‘People’s Choice Award’

$2,000   – Nevile & Co ‘Runners up Award’


Up to 80 finalists will be selected for exhibition and notified by email on or before the 9th September 2019 and invited to present their work to:

‘The Mission to Seafarers Victoria, 717 Flinders Street, Docklands, VIC 3008’ between Tuesday 10th & Tuesday 17th September 2019 only.

Award winning artworks will be featured following the Opening Night online at

The 2019 ANL Maritime Art Prize is closed for entries.

Artists selected as finalists for the exhibition will be notified by Tuesday 10th September and artworks will be received at the Mission to Seafarers until 17th September.

Click Here for 2019 Maritime Art Prize Terms & Conditions

All entries are hosted on our own online ANL Maritime Art Exhibition page.


This year’s Judges are: Dr. Charles Green, Professor of Contemporary Art at the University of Melbourne, artist, and author of several books on Contemporary Australian Art; Mr Graeme H. Williams OAM,  art collector, Board Member of the Lorne Sculpture Biennale 2020 and past curator of Melbourne Savage Club Art Prize; and Ms. Catherine De Boer, Artist, Designer & Educator.

Judging for the ANL Art Awards will take place September 30th and the winners in each category announced at the official opening on the evening of October 3rd. Finalists will receive a formal invitation to attend the Opening of the Maritime Art Award and Exhibition with one guest. Tickets can be purchased prior for other guests.

Please contact Sue Dight to discuss your involvement on 03 9629 7083 or

The ANL Maritime Art Exhibition will be open from 4th – 20th October, 2019 at the beautiful Heritage listed Mission to Seafarers building at 717 Flinders Street, Docklands from 10am – 8pm, daily.   

Entry by gold coin donation includes a catalogue of the show.

2018 Art Prize Winners and Sponsors


We thank ANL and the exhibition sponsors and artists for making this wonderful insight into all things maritime possible.

Sponsorship of the Art Awards has its own rewards and we look forward to tailoring an opportunity for your company to be part of future Maritime Art Awards.


The jury were impressed with the high standard of entries in the 2018 ANL Maritime Art prize. The theme ‘the Relationship of Humanity to the Sea’ attracted a diverse response of work ranging from traditional to contemporary mixed media. The winning works resonate with an outstanding level of creativity in response to the Brief. They were evocative, and showed a great deal of ideation and originality.

Congratulations to 2018 Maritime Art Prize Winner, Joni Dennis, for her multi-media work, ‘Aye Aye Captain’

Judges comments: “The winning work is a multi-faceted portrayal and celebration of ambitious female sea captains of container ships who  travel the world.”

Nevile & Co, Second Prize: Awarded to Robert J Williams for ‘Rust in Peace’

Judges comments: “A fresh take on portrayal of the iconic HMAS Cerberus wreck. A softly nuanced, big impact painting with a restrained colour palette.”

2018 ASP, Best Traditional Award: David Rowe, ‘The Naval Mechanic’

Judges comments: “A highly skilled and executed environmental portraiture of a Naval mechanic in the belly of a ship, rich in its tonality and depth.”


2018 DP World Australia, Emerging Artist Award: Ben Tankard, ‘Unpopular Penguin 286’

Judges comments: “… a layered narrative, with intriguing references to man’s relationship to the sea. We felt it was a highly innovative response to the Brief”

Congratulations to our TWO People’s Choice Award Winners!

The Prize was tied this year, between Jenny Laidlaw for ‘Breaker at the Stern’ (pictured left), and Donna Gibb, for ‘The Spirit of the Sea’ (pictured right). The artists and MTSV thank the People’s Choice sponsor, VIVA Energy Australia, for supporting the Maritime Art Prize.